tanna frederick today

May 16, 2011

“Sylvia” is opening this weekend – May 20!

It’s been a long wait since Sylvia closed at the Sierra Madre Playhouse, and it’s finally opening this weekend at the Edgemar Center for the Arts in Santa Monica – MUCH closer to home. Yeah! I can’t wait. I’m ready to laugh.

I briefly met Cathy Arden, who plays the character, Kate, and Stephen Howard, who plays Greg, at the Sierra Madre Playhouse. I can’t wait to see Tom Ayers, who plays three very distinct characters. I can’t imagine anyone playing a dog better than Tanna Frederick. She’s got it down.

I’m going this weekend. Who else is coming? The last time I saw Sylvia, I felt like my inner dog was really acknowledged – no, it’s not my inner child, it’s my inner dog. I’ve said it before, I know I was a dog in a past life.

When I saw Sylvia the first time, I felt like I was playing with a puppy – that’s how I experienced the play. The only thing that was missing was that new puppy smell (kind of like a new car smell, only better). All the other doggie-like warm fuzzies were there.

So, here we go. Make your reservations for this weekend. Don’t wait. It’ll be fun.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

