tanna frederick today

May 6, 2011

A Labradoodle and a Good Home

Yes, the play Sylvia is coming to the Edgemar Center for the Arts on May 20. I can’t wait to see it again.

There’s one change in the cast. Tom Ayers is playing three separate and distinct (and funny) characters. It’s interesting when one actor leaves a role and another step in. Two different people will play the same role very differently. Both can work. I saw it with the long running Henry Jaglom play, Just 45 Mnutes From Broadway. At one point David Proval was out of town for a couple of weeks and he was replaced by Greg (“Mary Jartman, Mary Hartman”) Mullavey. Very interesting how differently they played it.

Same thing with the role of Vivian in the same play. Diane Louise Salinger was replaced by Karen Black – two radically different acting approaches. It can work.

This reminds me of a situation I had once where the boss who had been on the job for years left and the employees hated the new guy until he proved himself. It was weird to see my co-workers take it out on the new guy as if the old guy’s leaving was his fault. But enough of that. I’m sure Tom Ayers will be great, especially being directed by Gary Imhoff. I read Tom’s bio and he’s done a lot of comedy. He’ll be  great. I’ve decided, in advance, that I’m going to like him.

The rest of the cast is the same, Stephen Howard as Greg, the midlifer with a crisis who brings home a Labradoodle instead of a Lamborghini, Cathy Arden as his very straight-laced wife, and of course, Tanna Frederick as the adorable stray, Sylvia the dog. I’m looking forward to a lot of laughs and  maybe a few surprises.

There’s a website for Sylviahttp://sylviatheplay.com. It has lots of info. I also just discovered a Facebook fan page for Sylvia. It’s called “Tanna Frederick’s New Play ‘Sylvia’ is Opening at Edgemar Center May 20.” Check ’em out. And go see Sylvia. I don’t know about you but I could use a few laughs. I could use a lot of laughs.  I’m gonna go get my laugh on. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

