tanna frederick today

April 9, 2011

Why am I writing about Tanna Frederick?

Tanna Frederick

I’m one of those people who likes to tell people about cool people and cool things. I have spent time and money campaigning for politicians I believed in. The first time was in high school when I campaigned for a teacher I really liked who ran for public office. He was a nice guy. He lost, I think because he was a nice guy.

I have sent email blasts to friends when someone I know is in a play or a movie or is having an art show opening. I have told people about books I love. I have, over the years, given away over 30 copies of Shel Silverstein’s book Where The Sidewalk Ends. It’s one of the most wonderful books I’ve ever read.

So I like to introduce people to things that I like, that maybe they’ll like, too. So why Tanna Frederick? Here’s why:

1. She’s incredibly talented – actress, writer, producer.
2. She gives a rat’s ass about the planet and wants to do things to make the world a better place. She founded Project Save Our surf.
3. She cares about other people and wants them to be successful. She established a scholarship in her name at her alma mater, the University of Iowa.
4. The whole freaking world should know who she is. Her name should be a household word. Like Cher and Denzel (no last name needed) people should know Tanna.
5. I’m a fan. I’ve seen her films and plays. Wow! She’s fun to watch because she goes places where some actors would not. She’s fearless, sometimes hilarious, sometimes heartbreaking but always convincing on stage.
6. I heard Tanna speak at Vidiot’s Video once and both she and Henry Jaglom are fascinating people. Maybe I should blog about him, too, but he’s already an icon and I want as many people to know about her.
7. I met her once, after the play Just 45 Minutes From Broadway and I wanted to tell her how much I enjoyed her performance. She was very nice and we actually chatted for a few minutes. She was gracious and friendly and seemed genuinely grateful for my comments.
8. Here’s somebody who’s has talent, is doing good in the world and seems like a real person, a fun person, a cool person. She has that Sandra Bullock girl-next-door way of being.

So that’s why.

If anyone reading this blog knows her or knows about other cool things she’s doing, please let me know.

4 Comments »

  1. Dear Tannablogger,

    I’m a subscriber to this blog because I like to hear what Tanna is up to. You asked if anyone knew her, to write in. Well, I was in a play with her for ten months at the Edgemar Theatre in Santa Monica…”Just 45 Minutes from Broadway.” She’s currently rehearsing another play which will open there May 20 (“Sylvia”). I wrote music for two of her films and I think she’s one of the best people around. She’s a remarkable actress but has no attitude, is very down to earth and truly cares about her fans. It’s no wonder you’re enthusiastic about her.

    Comment by harrietschock — April 9, 2011 @ 6:32 am |Reply

    • Wow! I saw you in the play, Just 45 Minutes From Broadway, and you were brilliant. In a very funny play, you had some of the funniest lines. Thanks for the headsup on Sylvia. I saw it at the Sierra Madre Playhouse but I know a number of people who didn’t want to travel that far. The westside contingent will be very happy that it’s coming to the Edgemar. I’ll definitely be blogging about it soon.

      Comment by Tannablogger — April 9, 2011 @ 6:38 am |Reply

  2. That’s nice of you to start this blog.

    Comment by Shelia Goss — April 11, 2011 @ 1:32 am |Reply

  3. You’re making me wish that I knew Tanna! 🙂

    Comment by Jean — April 13, 2011 @ 3:02 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

